Why I am Glad to Have Encountered the Spirit and Words of Jesus

Over the past 7 years or so I have taken a slow, and sometimes painful journey out of the strange realm of Evangelical Christianity.  At the age of 15 I encountered Jesus Christ and began to consider myself his disciple.  Over time I began to identify as an Evangelical and began to adopt the its worldview.  Around the age of 22 I began to retreat.  Now, I do not consider myself an Evangelical and go back and forth as to whether I would consider myself a Christian at all.  I know many people would be quicker to affirm that I am not a Christian because of some of my beliefs and direction in life.  Despite all this, I am grateful for many things that happened to me as a result of my encounter with the Spirit of Jesus through the Word of Jesus found in the New Testament.

The main thing I was thinking about this morning was that before I met Jesus I was a racist.  Sometimes openly so.  At one point I even flurted with neo-nazism.  I grew up in a home with a father who was openly right-wing and latently racist.  He was no Klan member, or Neo-Nazi, but the word Nigger was heard from time and time and I imbibed a common right-wing ideology that poor black people were part of the problem.  Let me say, that my father no longer is like this at all.  He, himself, is now a Christian and is a very gracious man.

But it was through the encounter with Jesus that my racism was dashed.  I saw that there was no place for judging my fellow human being based on the color of their skin.  I learned that fear of the unknown and of what is different is no good reason to form a judgement or opinion.  Through my encounter with Jesus I gained a love and understanding of the poor.  I came to realize that the American Dream is not God’s dream.  I also discovered something called “the kingdom of God” and “the life of the age to come”.  Through Jesus I discovered that my life could have a clear purpose and direction and that it could be channeled to building a new world; ushering in a new age here and now.

Through Jesus I learned the importance of community.  I discovered that human beings are created to be in community- to share our lives and resources- with one another.  I discovered that the whole world is my family.  And there is so much more.  Now, I don’t equate the kingdom of God or the life of the age to come with what evangelical christianity does.  I am not speaking of a world where everyone goes to church, votes republican, or knows that they are going to heaven when they die.  I am talking about a community of people in the earth who are committed to one another and to building a new world in the shell of the old.  Just thought I’d share.

About andrewwehrheim

Hello Blogging World. My name is Andrew Wehrheim. I am married to my beautiful wife Katie. We have a wonderful son named Andrew Peter, a.k.a "Buzz". We are in the process of moving from Lancaster, OH to Milwaukee, WI. I am a working class man. I have worked in the grocery industry the past four years. I am drawn to a deeper experience of community and long for a world of justice and love. Word out.
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

