Is God a Subject to be Learned or a Being to be Experienced?

Today as I was outside with my son at a nearby park I sensed the nearness of God.  The Sun was shining bright and I was standing near the bank of a little rushing creek.  There was an experience of God in that moment that was precious, and that could be more common place if I were open to it.

Let me say that I am not speaking of mere sentimentality here.  But in creation and in my being I had a real encounter with the God who created the world and all that is within it.  At that moment I was not thinking about the dichotomy of evolution vs. creationsim, or biblical doctrine, I was enjoying the reality of the creator and sustainer. 

In the West we have, in great measure, turned God into an academic subject to be studied like Math, Science, or History.  Scripture is the apex of our religion and spirituality.  Reading and memorizing words have become the essence of our spiritual exercise.  Now, I am all for books and learning.  But they are a means to an end, not the end themselves. 

The end of all things is God and a relationship with him and with one another as his children.  This comes by experience and enjoyment. 

I hope that I spend more time experiencing God in my spirit, in creation, and in my fellow human beings.  I hope that I gain eyes to see Him more, for”blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see God.”

Christ is a life-giving spirit sent out into all the earth.  We may find him everywhere and thereby live close to him.

About andrewwehrheim

Hello Blogging World. My name is Andrew Wehrheim. I am married to my beautiful wife Katie. We have a wonderful son named Andrew Peter, a.k.a "Buzz". We are in the process of moving from Lancaster, OH to Milwaukee, WI. I am a working class man. I have worked in the grocery industry the past four years. I am drawn to a deeper experience of community and long for a world of justice and love. Word out.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is God a Subject to be Learned or a Being to be Experienced?

  1. Jim says:

    He is known not by intellect, but by atmosphere. Knowledge is too often just another one of man’s lusts; a lust for knowledge gained so I can impress myself, others, perhaps even God. I love you brother.

Leave a Reply

